ALICE Thesis Award

Since 2008, ALICE Thesis awards are given once a year for the most outstanding PhD thesis by members of the ALICE Collaboration in the field of physics and instrumentation. The awards celebrate the excellence of young researchers at ALICE and the importance of their work in the physics world. The selection is made by a committee appointed by the ALICE Collaboration Board.




(12 July 2023)

ALICE Thesis Award 2023 (12 July 2023)


Award ceremony

Coverage in



(28 July 2022)

ALICE Thesis Award 2021-2022:

Award Ceremony

Coverage in (CERN Bulletin)


(28 June 2021)

Award ceremony

Article in CERN Bulletin (9 July 2021)


Award ceremony

Article in CERN Bulletin


  • Dr. Katarína Gajdošová: Investigation of collectivity in small and large collision systems at the LHC with ALICE”, Niels Bohr Institute, University of Copenhagen (Denmark). Thesis link.
  • Dr. Nicolò Jacazio: "Production and nuclear modification factors of pions, kaons and protons in pp and AA collisions at the LHC", Università di Bologna (Italy). Thesis link.
  • Dr. Ivan Vorobyev: "Low-mass dielectron production in proton-proton collisions at √s = 13 TeV with ALICE”, Technischen Universität München (Germany). Thesis link.

Award ceremony


  • Dr. Monika Varga-Kőfaragó (Utrecht University, The Netherlands / CERN), thesis topic: "Anomalous Broadening of Jet-Peak Shapes in Pb–Pb Collisions and Characterization of Monolithic Active Pixel Sensors for the ALICE Inner Tracking System Upgrade"
  • Dr. Mohamad Tarhini (IPN Orsay, France), thesis topic: "Measurement of Z-boson and J/ψ production in p-Pb and Pb-Pb collisions at √sNN = 5.02 TeV with ALICE at the LHC" (Talk link)
  • Dr. Jaime Norman (University of Liverpool, UK),  thesis topic: "Λc+ baryon production measurements with the ALICE experiment at the LHC" (Talk link)

Award ceremony


  • Dr. Michael Andreas Winn (Physikalisches Institut Heidelberg): Inclusive J/ψ production at mid-rapidity in p–Pb collisions at 5.02 TeV (Talk link)
  • Dr. Vít Kučera (NPI ASCR + Charles University in Prague): Study of strange particle production in jet with the ALICE experiment at the LHC (Talk link)

Photos in CDS


  • Dr. Simone Schuchmann:  Modification of K0s and Lambda (Anti-Lambda) transverse momentum spectra in Pb-Pb collisions at sqrt(s_NN)=2.76 TeV with ALICE (Talk link)
  • Dr. Andrea Festanti: Measurement of the D0 meson production in Pb-Pb and p-Pb collisions with the ALICE experiment at the LHC (Talk link)

Award ceremony

Both Simone and Andrea received Springer thesis awards for this year.


  • Deepa Thomas (Utrecht University): Jet-like heavy-flavour particle correlations in proton-proton and lead-lead collisions in ALICE (Talk link)

Award ceremony


  • Dr. Marta Verweij (Utrecht University)Modelling and measurement of jet quenching in relativistic heavy-ion collisions at the LHC (Talk link)
  • Dr. Xianguo Lu (Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg)Exploring the performance limits of the ALICE Time Projection Chamber and Transition Radiation Detector for measuring identified hadron production at the LHC (Talk link)

Link to the Award ceremony


  • Dr. Antonin Maire (physics)
  • Dr. Magnus Mager (technical) 

Award ceremony 


  • Dr. Maria Nicassio (dipartimento interateneo di Fisica “M.Merlin” and Sezione INFN Bari) was awarded for her thesis “Study of global observables in p-p and A-A collisions with ALICE at LHC”.
  • Dr. Stefan Rossegger (CERN) was awarded for his thesis on “Simulation and Calibration of the ALICE TPC including Space Charge Calculations”.

Story in ALICE Matters


Not Awarded


  • Dr. J.-F. Grosse-Oetringhaus (physics)
  • Dr. J. Wichula (detector).


  • Dr. Christian Holm Christensen
  • Dr. Zaida Conesa del Valle

Article in the CERN bulletin


ALICE Thesis Award Committees:

2024 Ralf Averbeck (Chair), Jana Bielčíková, Javier Castillo Castellanos, Sadhana Dash, Yaxian Mao, Daniel Tapia Takaki, Alberica Toia
2023 Ralf Averbeck (Chair), Jana Bielčíková, Zaida Conesa del Valle, Sadhana Dash, Yaxian Mao, Daniel Tapia Takaki, Alberica Toia
2022 Giuseppe Bruno and Philippe Crochet (Co-chairs), Ralf Averbeck, Jana Bielčíková, Yaxian Mao, Daniel Tapia Takaki, Alberica Toia
2021 Giuseppe Bruno and Philippe Crochet (Co-chairs), Jana Bielcikova, Ralf Averbeck, John Harris, Alberica Toia, and In-Kwon Yoo
2020 Giuseppe Bruno and Philippe Crochet (Co-chairs), Roberta Arnaldi, Ralf Averbeck, John Harris, Alberica Toia, and In-Kwon Yoo
2019 Yves Schutz (Chair), Roberta Arnaldi, Ralf Averbeck, Marielle Chartier, Thomas Cormier, Sudhir Raniwala, and In Kwon Yoo
2018 Yves Schutz (Chair), Anton Andronic, Roberta Arnaldi, Thomas Cormier, Christina Markert, Andre Mischke, Sudhir Raniwala
2017 Barbara Erazmus (Chair), Tom Cormier, Bruno Ghidini, Christina markert, Andre Mischke, Sudhir Raniwala
2016 Paul Kuijer (Chair), Nicole Bastid, Tom Cormier, Bruno Ghidini, Paul Kuijer, Christina Markert, Sudhir Raniwala
2014 Paul Kuijer (Chair), Nicole Bastid, Bruno Ghidini, Christina Markert, Sudhir Raniwala, Kai Schweda
2013 Paul Kuijer (Chair), Bruno Ghidini, Christina Markert, Nicole Bastid, Peter Braun-Muninger,
Sudhir Raniwala
2012 Paul Kuijer (Chair), Bruno Ghidini, Christina Markert, Nicole Bastid, Peter Braun-Muninger,
Sudhir Raniwala
2011 Peter Braun-Munzinger, Bruno Ghidini and Paul Kuijer.
2009 Hans-Ake Gustafsson (Chair), Rene Kamermans, Peter Braun-Munzinger
2008  Hans-Ake Gustafsson (Chair), Rene Kamermans, Peter Braun-Munzinger