ALICE Juniors

An ALICE Junior

  • Bachelors, Masters or PhD student (or equivalent)
  • A person whose PhD (or equivalent) award was within the last 5 years (post-doc)
  • A person whose University degree was awarded within the last 8 years

Essentially the junior members of ALICE are those people who are near the beginning of their careers. Much of the day-to-day analysis is conducted by the junior members, along with service tasks and other important tasks such as detector calibration and development, which are necessary for ALICE to run in a smooth and efficient manner.

Junior representation

The representation of the Juniors within ALICE management passes through the election of 3 juniors' representatives to the Collaboration Board (CB).
These representatives serve a 2 year term on the CB, and they have one vote each in it. They act as liaisons with the junior community, by reporting on key decisions made by the CB and by addressing the issues of the juniors within the CB itself. They also send one member to participate in the Management Board. One of the three elected representatives must be a student, in order to ensure that the voices of those who are still students are also heard.

Remarks

If you are a junior, you should be on the mailing list (alice-juniors@cern.ch) both in order to vote and to receive important information. Subscription is automatic via GLANCE, based on your employment status. If you believe you should be counted as a junior but are not on the mailing list, please contact the Junior Representatives (alice-junior-reps@cern.ch) to let us know.

 

It is important to make people in the ALICE management understand the experiences that juniors have, and the realities that we face in our current career paths. This will allow ALICE to make decisions that better suit the needs of everyone within the collaboration.

It is equally important to involve every ALICE junior in the discussions and in the election procedures, to support our representatives and to let them know the problems that the juniors face. Juniors are a vital part of the collaboration and should have a word in how it is managed!
 

Anonymous Questions

Feel free to ask any question or let us know about things which can be improved! Your text will be sent anonymously to alice-junior-reps@cern.ch. We might forward questions (strictly anonymized) to appropriate bodies. Please, write here your concern.

 

Current representatives


Hannah Bossi

Tomáš Herman

Zuzana Moravcova

 

 

Juniors Ambassador

 

 

Country Name E-mail​  
Brazil ​Fabio De Moraes Canedo fabio.de.moraes.canedo@cern.ch
China Siyu Tang siyu.tang@cern.ch
Croatia    
​Czech Republic Tomáš Herman tomas.herman@cern.ch
Denmark zuzana.moravcova@cern.ch
​Egypt  
Finland jasper.parkkila@cern.ch
France chun-lu.huang@cern.ch
sizar.aziz@cern.ch
 
Germany Carolina Anna Reetz carolina.anna.reetz@cern.ch
Hungary Laszlo Gyulai gyulai.laszlo@wigner.hu
India Meenakshi Sharma  
Pritam Chakraborty
Italy Gioacchino Vino gioacchino.vino@cern.ch
Japan Motomi Oya
Natsuki Shimizu
motomi.oya@cern.ch
natsuki.shimizu@cern.ch
​ Korea ​Bong-Hwi Lim bong-hwi.lim@cern.ch
​ Mexico ​Abraham Villatoro Tello abraham.villatoro.tello@cern.ch
Netherlands Auro Mohanty auro.mohanty@cern.ch
​ Poland ​Wioleta Rzęsa
Sebastian Bysiak
wioleta.rzesa@cern.ch
s.bysiak@cern.ch
Romania Amelia Lindner amelia.lindner@cern.ch
​Russia Sergei Solokhin sergei.solokhin@cern.ch
South Africa Sibaliso Mhlanga sibahso.mhlanga@cern.ch
​ Sweden ​Oliver Matonoha oliver.matonoha@cern.ch  
Turkey ​Cevat Batuhan Tolon cevat.batuhan.tolon@cern.ch
​ UK
USA Hannah Bossi

hannah.bossi@yale.edu