Run Coordination

The overall coordination of the commissioning and data taking operations of the ALICE experiment is under the responsibility of Technical Coordination (TC). The TC appoints the Run Coordinator (RC) and Deputy Run Coordinator (DRC) who are responsible for the data taking operations of the ALICE detector  and represent the experiment at the LHC accelerator control center (CCC).


Taku Gunji


Federico Ronchetti




 List of SubSystem Run Coordinators 



RC is assisted in the daily coordination work by a Run Manager (RM) for the duration of a 2 weeks period. Each subsystem nominates a System Run Coordinator (SRC), who is responsible for the detailed organisation of the real-time operation of the subsystem and provides the interface between the RC and the project. The shift crew has the task of operating the experiment for an 8-hour shift period. It is headed by a Shift Leader (SL) who is in charge of implementing the shift plan defined in the run coordination meetings and directing the shift operations.


Useful links

Collaborative tools


ALICE RunControl RC desk: 75811
ALICE RunControl RM desk: 76329
ALICE Shift Leader: 77702

General Phone Numbers

LHC Control Room 77600
TI Control Room 72201
SPS 77500


Run coordination for past run periods


LHC Phase

Run Coordinator / DEPUTY
2019-21 LS2 Taku Gunji - U. of Tokyo (JP) / Federico Ronchetti - INFN Laboratori Nazionali di Frascati (I)
2018 RUN2 Kristján Gulbrandsen - Niels Bohr Institute, University of Copenhagen (DK) /  Taku Gunji  - U. of Tokyo (JP) 
2017 RUN2 Grazia Luparello - INFN, Trieste (I) / Kristján Gulbrandsen - Niels Bohr Institute, University of Copenhagen (DK) 
2016 RUN2 Siegfried Foertsch - iThemba LABS, National Research Foundation (ZA) / Grazia Luparello - INFN, Trieste (I)
2013-15 LS1+RUN2 Federico Ronchetti - INFN, Laboratori Nazionali di Frascati (I) / CERN (CH)
2012-13 RUN1 Gilda Scioli - INFN e U. di Bologna (I)
2011 RUN1 Paolo Martinengo - CERN (CH)
2010 RUN1 Chilo Garabatos Cuadrado - GSI (D)
2009 RUN1 Jan Rak - U of Jyvaskyla (FI) 
2008 RUN1 Paul Kuijer  NIKHEF (NL)